Buys holds slender advantage after Drak Descent stage one

27-28 January 2024

Buys holds slender advantage after Drak Descent stage one

Despite being slightly under the weather, PYGA Euro Steel’s Philip Buys claimed stage one honours at the Euro Steel Drak Descent, in partnership with FNB, on Saturday.

With heavy rain on Friday afternoon the organisers were forced to do running repairs early on Saturday morning but the trails were ready for the riders and for Buys it was a good day out despite a slight ailment.

“I felt a little bit off because I have been off the bike for three days with a bit of a head cold but it was a really fun day out there and it wasn’t too slippery,” Buys said.

“I didn’t push it too hard today and just made sure that I stuck with the guys so I was glad that it worked out like that.

“I also hadn’t downloaded the maps so I had to stick with the group so I didn’t get lost!” he laughed.

Heading into Sunday’s second stage Buys is hoping that he can shake off the illness and put in a bigger effort.

“Tomorrow should be a bit drier so we can probably put in a bit more effort in terms of the pace and it should be a good day out.

“It was good fun out there today and tomorrow I’m hoping that I can work a bit harder and push the guys a bit.

“It’s good to see the guys eager to race and that made today’s ride more fun.

“I want to go out there and win the race obviously so we will see how it goes.”

Michael Foster came home in second position but finished with the same time as Buys while Daniel van der Watt is the third solo rider.

Leading the team event is the DriveTrain duo of Tyronne White and Justin Swanepoel while nine minutes behind them is the Under 23 Tipping Point/Brink Cycling Academy pair of Omar Wilson and Ryan Taylor.

Hayley Smith and Dale Allen are the leading mixed team in the race going into Sunday’s second and final 45km stage to the finish at Umzimkhulu River Lodge.
SUMMARY OF RESULTS – Euro Steel Drak Descent Stage One


  1. Philip Buys 01:54:05
  2. Michael Foster 01:54:05
  3. Daniel van der Watt 01:56:16
  4. Tyronne White/Justin Swanepoel 01:56:31
  5. Andrew Hill 02:01:04
  6. Omar Wilson/Ryan Taylor 02:05:44
  7. Martin Hall 02:06:41
  8. Tayne Rudling 02:09:35
  9. Angus Mcleod 02:13:54
  10. Nic Burczak 02:14:39


  1. Tyronne White/Justin Swanepoel 01:56:31
  2. Omar Wilson/Ryan Taylor 02:05:44
  3. Shaun Oosthuizen/Matthew Lachenicht 02:26:25

Mixed Team

  1. Hayley Smith/Dale Allen 02:28:53
  2. Luke Newlands/Jodi Mackinnon 02:36:20
  3. Charles Stander/Nadine Nunes 02:39:43
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Instagram